Barbie
28/07/2023

I recently went to watch Barbie with my friend! So I thought I'd talk about it a bit & give a review. This will not include spoilers, worry not.

I thought it was so funny that conservatives were (and still are) so pissy about this movie so I knew I had to watch it and see it for myself. I was not dissapointed!

I went in all pink like everyone else ( + an excruciatingly Pink makeup look) while my friend went in all blue. It's actually crazy boo boo bonkers how many people were dressed in pink! I went to the restroom after the movie and all I could see was people wearing PINK! It's a great color, so I'm not complaining.

Right off the bat the set design was my favorite part of the movie, it's so fucking amazing and accurate and pretty and lively I couldn't help but want to live in Barbieland .. And the costume design was just as incredible. They did such a good job on this part. I also think the dialogue and the way the characters carried themselves was so good and really did remind me of a kid playing with Barbies.
I really like how the movies doesn't take itself too seriously in some parts but still has time to pull at your heartstrings with the emotional sequences. That ending was so amazing, but then they hit you with that last line LOL. The tonal shift is so jarring but in a really good and funny way.

My only gripe with this movie was Sasha. She's just a really strange character to me. No kid talks like that ? It did break my immersion for a little bit but it's just a few scenes and really doesn't break the whole movie. Another thing that bothered me just a little were the 'slideshows'. It just felt a bit awkward but again, not a big issue.

Overall, I LOVED this movie. And if you haven't seen it yet then I encourage you to do so.
Final score : 4.5 stars