Religion
28/07/2023

Religion is a tricky and divisive subject, and I consider myself lucky to not have had too bad of an experience with it. Which is what I want to talk about; My history with religion.

I never really believed in God. Ever since I learnt about the word 'atheist' I identified with it, which was a bit ironic considering I was in a catholic school for nearly my entire life (until now). They made us pray every morning before class started, there was a church inside the school, my parents would drag me to church every once in a while, and my mom tried to guilt me into going to sunday school. All of which I absolutely despised. I ended up turning into a reddit atheist for a good year, I was about 12 and just a huge cunt to whoever believed in God. And at around 13 years old, that ended and I soon entered my next phase.

My witchcraft phase. I did hexes, had crystals, lit incense, and I would go outside every day to gather flowers and plants and sticks to make wands. Which, as silly as it was, was actually super super fun. Even with all that, I still didn't believe in astrology! Which is a little funny.

After that I stagnated for a few years. Somewhere between being an atheist and a satanist. Until ... the past few months, where I kinda got into Christianity again! Right now, I'd call myself a Christian for simplicity's sake but I don't believe in a lot of things in the religion and I don't think the bible is correct about a lot of things. Like... I believe in Jesus. I don't think he was born from a virgin mother though. I believe in God... I think? Sorta ? I'm kind of agnostic in a sense; I know it's not logical but I like believing in God just because it's comforting to me. I don't really believe in heaven and hell, either. I think that you reincarnate after death. I also have some other beliefs, about the universe and celestial bodies (specially stars) being sentient in a way and listening to you when you talk to them. So basically, it's all a jumble of beliefs!

And I like it that way instead of just following 1 religion verbatim. I think something like traditional christianity where you have to follow these strict rules or else you're condemned to eternal suffering CANNOT end well, and it really negatively impacts people, aswell as purity culture. A lot of these standards aren't even in the bible! Someone just interpreted it that way when it doesn't actually say that in the bible, and then everyone just runs with it!

I think religion should be something more personal. Spend time with yourself to find out what you have faith in instead of just listening to others.